ECCO – Call for Works – RTS Symphony Orchestra – Belgrade 2018

The European Composer and Songwriter Alliance (ECSA) is pleased to launch a call for works to be considered for its tenth European Contemporary Composers Orchestra (ECCO) Concert which will be performed during the ECSA General Assembly in Belgrade.

ECCO is an initiative of the contemporary music committee of ECSA (known as the ECF committee). It aims to establish a Europe-wide network dedicated to the performance, distribution and Promotion of contemporary art music. It operates as a network of active ensembles, orchestras and Young professionals, supporting creative dialogue between composers and performers and offering young professionals the opportunity to develop their skills on international level with ensembles experienced in contemporary music.
ECSA is pleased to announce that the ECCO concert will be performed by the RTS Symphony Orchestra. The concert will take place on 18 September 2018 in the “Kolarac” Concert Hall, Belgrade and will be conducted by Serbian conductor Bojan Sudjic.

1/ The specifications for the concert are:
· For the ECCO call for Belgrade, the RTS Symphony Orchestra makes available the following instrumentation:
3 Flutes (one doubling piccolo)
3 Oboes (one doubling cor anglais)
3 Clarinets (B flat or A, one doubling bass clarinet)
3 Bassoons (one doubling contra bassoon)
4 Horns
3 Trumpets
3 Trombones
1 Tuba
1 Timpani
3 Percussion
1 Harp
Strings (12/10/8/6/5)

· No piano, keyboard, organ, voices or electronics are available
· We encourage pieces of all lengths but ask that the piece does not exceed 15 minutes
· Works must have been written within the last twenty years and have already received a
· This is a call for orchestra only. On this occasion we cannot consider concertos or works with extended solo parts.

2/ Submission requirements:
Submission must be made online via a PDF of the score. The score should preferably be type-set, but PDFs of legible hand-written score and parts are allowed. Submissions must include an Audio recording in MP3 format of a live performance. No submissions will be considered without it.

Interessierte ÖKB-Mitglieder werden ersucht, ihr Werk bis spätestens 30. April an zu senden.

Submissions should be made and co-ordinated via ECSA member societies. There is a maximum of three per country – chosen by the country. Submissions from both individuals and publishers are welcome.
ECSA would like to encourage member societies to take gender balance into consideration for the selection.
Compositions by members of the ECCO Working Group and Artistic Committee, ECSA board and/ or ECF official delegation (i.e. representatives of the composers’ societies within the ECF committee) will not be considered.
Deadline for submission is Monday 14 May 2018 – 12:00pm (CEST).

The jury will consist of members of the ECCO Artistic Committee who will select a programme of works of about 60 minutes. The aim is to have a broad selection of works which represent both the quality and diversity of the contemporary European symphonic writing within the ECSA members’ network.

3/ Contribution from Composers’ Societies:
If successful, composers’ societies who will have presented the selected pieces will be expected to cover the costs of hire of material/parts.
Composers Societies whose submissions pieces have been selected for performance will be notified via e-mail after 28 May 2018.

Schreibe einen Kommentar